You frighten me sometimes 

I see the flickering red rivers of blood bath ,

Outpouring under the foam of washing sins 

Then I remember the Creator,

Sweating, dying, nailed on the crucifix

Oh dear Lord, you frighten me sometimes 
I hear about the melting ice on the places unreachable ,

And countries being swallowed by the gulp of water.

Then I remember your great plan, 

With Noah and his hopeful wooden ark . 

Oh dear Lord, you frighten me sometimes 

I read about these innocent victims 

Being hanged and tortured,

Under the deceptive veil of hatred and betrayal. 

Then I remember the great plaque

With its shadows it had claimed many. 

Oh dear Lord, you frighten me sometimes 

Then I witness the smile of a young, shivering boy. 

His shoulders dropping with burden 

Followed by a weak, fragile man, 

Holding his hands, with a face shining with care and cure. 

Oh dear Lord, you surprise me sometimes. 

                                      – Purva 

Image by Google 

4 thoughts on “You frighten me sometimes 

Leave a Reply

